How To Sell A Gun In Texas

Texas and gun ownership go hand-in-hand. True to its independent roots, Texas ranks as one of American’s top 10 states for gun friendly laws. When it comes to factors like waiting periods, stand-your-ground laws, and the recently signed Texas Constitutional Carry, its no surprise that so many residents in the Lone Star State are law-abiding gun owners. But despite an overall favorable climate toward gun ownership, Texas law still has some hurdles when it comes to selling a gun.

Legally Buying and Selling a Gun in Texas

In the state of Texas, universal background checks are not required for every gun purchase, and no permits or registration are required to own a firearm in the state. However, if a gun is sold in Texas to a person who is ineligible to own a firearm, both the gun buyer and seller are subject to legal restrictions. A few examples are listed below. Private gun sellers in Texas cannot sell their firearms if:

  • The seller knows that the buyer is not allowed to own a firearm.
  • The seller knows or suspects that the buyer intends to use the firearm unlawfully or in the commission of an unlawful act.
  • The buyer lives in a different state.
  • The buyer is intoxicated at the time of purchase.
  • The buyer is younger than 18 years old (shotguns and rifles) or the buyer is at least 21 years old if purchasing a handgun.
  • The gun has been defaced.
  • The gun is a restricted firearm (explosive weapons, machine guns requiring an FLL).

Federal Restrictions on Selling a Gun

In addition to keeping track of state law, there are numerous Federal gun restrictions a seller must follow when it comes to legally buying and selling a firearm in Texas. It is unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to any person who meets the following conditions.

  • A conviction (felony or misdemeanor) where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if the gun buyer did not receive actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year).
  • A warrant (felony or out-of-state misdemeanor).
  • Out on a felony pre-trial release.
  • Convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence, restraining, or stalking, or in violation of a protection order.
  • Unlawful use or addiction to a controlled substance (including marijuana).
  • A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
  • An illegal alien.
  • An individual who has renounced U.S. citizenship.
  • Someone adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to any mental institution.

The Easiest Way to Sell a Gun in Texas

Even in a state like Texas, selling a gun can be confusing. If you’re looking to sell a firearm in Texas without the endless hours researching Texas state gun law and Federal gun laws, consigning your gun with a firearms auction house is a great option to consider.

Gun consignment with Rock Island Auction Company provides a risk-free way to sell your gun and legally relinquish ownership in Texas while staying fully compliant with Texas firearm laws. Rock Island Auction Company holds a Federal Firearms License and sells and transfers tens of thousands of guns each year.

Selling a Gun at Auction

As a licensed FLL dealer, Rock Island Auction Company is here to answer all your legal questions and help you navigate all the Federal gun laws and Texas gun laws involved in safely selling your firearms. There are no up-front costs, and the process can be started with a simple phone call.

A-company-colt-whitneyville-walker-percussion-revolverA Colt Walker passed down through the Darst Family of Texas sold for a stunning $431,250.

Rock Island Auction Company has the experience, the customer reach, and an 18-year success record as the world’s #1 firearms auction house. The gun consignment process is safe, easy, legal, and places your gun in front of thousands of potential buyers. Nobody gets you a better deal for your guns than Rock Island Auction Company. Contact RIAC for a free valuation today.